Know About Various Stages Of Chronic Kidney Failure

By on April 5, 2016

There are basically five stages of Chronic Kidney Failure. People who suffer from chronic kidney disease have their kidneys slowly losing the ability of removing excess water and wastes from blood.

This is a progressive condition which means that it gets worse with time. Nevertheless, people suffering from this condition can live for years prior to identifying the symptoms.

Chronic kidney failure is also called chronic renal failure affecting a large number of people throughout the world.

This condition is generally the result of the other disorders and diseases that cause large scale kidney damage. High blood pressure and diabetes are the two most common causes of chronic kidney disease.

The 5 Stages of Chronic Kidney Failure

Let us have a look at information about various stages of Chronic Kidney Failure:

Stages of Chronic Kidney Failure

Stage 1

This is a stage where kidney damage takes place with normal GFR which is 90 and above. This stage might be detected prior to identifying the decline in GFR. The main objective of treatment at this stage is reducing the chances of blood vessel and heart disease.

Stage 2

In this stage, kidney damage takes place with a mild decrease in GFR. This is the stage where the kidney starts functioning in an abnormal manner. The function of the kidney declines and treatment is aimed towards reducing the chances of heart problems.

Stage 3

This is the stage where the typical symptoms of kidney problems start getting obvious. This stage is identified by way of blood tests. However, doctors are not able to take immediate actions at this stage. This is a stage where moderate damage is caused to the kidneys.

Stage 4

Stage 4 is when the kidney starts getting damaged at an advanced level with serious reduction in GFR or glomerualr filtration rate. People who suffer from stage four of chronic kidney failure require proper dialysis and even kidney transplant in the future.

Stage 5

This is the end stage kidney failure where the kidneys completely lose their ability of doing their task effectively. Symptoms of stage five of chronic renal disease include headaches, loss of appetite, vomiting or nausea, itching and muscle cramps.

Photo Credits:

Get the latest health Information and Health Tips from!

Delivered by E Healthy Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.